Being tagged in a Facebook post isn’t everyone’s idea of a very good time. When this happens, there’s a very good chance that the post will show up in your mates’ news feeds—possibly even before you’ve seen it. You don’t must ditch Facebook to stop this. Take control by changing this one setting.
How Facebook Tags Work
While most of us probably associate Facebook tags with photos, that’s only half of the story. You too can be tagged in posts, a feature that’s commonly used when posting about meetups with friends or members of the family. Sometimes, spammers and marketers will tag you in posts, particularly from compromised accounts.
These tags will all show up in your timeline by default. They are going to appear beneath your name, photo, and bio information in your main profile. If a friend, family thành viên, or colleague looks at your profile, they will see posts that you’ve been tagged in by scrolling down the page.
Chances are you’ll be tagged by friends, or you could be tagged by strangers. When you’re tagged in a post, your name can be visible to anyone who has permission to see that post. If the post is public, it could show up in your profile as public content (which implies that anyone, friends or not, could see it).
In case your account is about to permit engines like google to seek out you and link on to your profile, a possible employer running a background check could stumble across any public posts that you just’ve been tagged in.
One thing that won’t show up in your timeline is individual comments that you might be tagged in. So in case your friend tags you within the comment section of a funny photo to attract your attention to it, the post won’t show up in your profile.
Enable Timeline Review to Manually Approve Tags
Fortunately, you possibly can take control of those tags and manually approve what appears in your timeline. By doing so, you possibly can review everything that appears in your profile, avoiding any spam or unflattering photos while also embracing the posts that you would like your mates to see.
To do that, log in to your Facebook account on the online at Facebook.com or via the mobile app in your platform of choice.
Enable Timeline Review on Facebook.com
In the event you’re using the web site, first, log in to the Facebook website. Click on the downward-facing arrow within the top-right corner of the news feed.
Within the menu that appears, click on “Settings & Privacy,” after which select “Settings” to point out the complete menu.
Click on the “Profile and Tagging” section within the sidebar on the left of the screen.
Under the Reviewing section at the underside of the screen, enable “Review posts you’re tagged in before the post appears in your profile?” by clicking the Edit button.
Whilst you’re here, you may additionally wish to enable the “Review tags that individuals add to your posts before the tags appear on Facebook?” choice to get even greater control over who can see your posts.
Enable Timeline Review on Mobile
On mobile, the method is slightly different, but just as simple. After you’re logged in, access Facebook settings using the “More” tab within the lower right-hand corner of the screen.
Tap “Settings & Privacy,” followed by “Settings” to see the complete list of options that you’ve available to you.
Under Audience and Visibility, tap on “Profile and tagging.”
Under the “Reviewing” section, enable the “Review posts you’re tagged in before the post appears in your profile?” choice to activate Timeline Review. You might also wish to enable the “Review tags that individuals add to your posts before the tags appear on Facebook?” option for even greater control.
The tagging process will remain the identical for your mates, they usually won’t receive any notification that you’ve hidden or approved the tag in your profile. In the event that they visit your profile, then they’ll have the ability to see exactly what you’ve been tagged in, identical to the remainder of your mates list.
With Timeline Review enabled, you can be notified of any posts that you might be tagged in with the choice of approving or hiding the tag. While you approve a tag, it would appear in your profile, whereas choosing “hide” will hide the post.
This won’t stop you from being tagged on Facebook, but it would prevent these tags from appearing right in your profile.
You’ll be able to access Timeline Review directly from the online and mobile interfaces. To do that in a browser at Facebook.com, first, click on the downward arrow within the top-right corner. Then, choose Settings & Privacy, followed by Activity Log. Click on “Timeline, Photo and Tag Review” to see any pending posts.
On mobile using the Facebook app, tap on the “More” tab within the bottom-right corner of the screen, after which tap in your name at the highest of the screen to see your profile. Tap on the ellipsis “…” icon to see more options, followed by “Review Posts and Tags” to see any pending posts.
Methods to Remove Old Posts You’ve Been Tagged in
Timeline Review doesn’t work retroactively, so anything that you just’ve already been tagged in will persist. Fortunately, you possibly can still remove items that you just’ve been tagged in out of your timeline, although you’ll must do it manually on a post-by-post basis.
To do that, access your profile either via the online or mobile. Scroll right down to see any posts that you just’ve been tagged in, after which click (or tap) on the ellipsis “…” button next to the post.
From the menu that appears, choose “Hide from profile,” and the post will not show up. Understand that the post hasn’t gone away entirely and that only the profile that made the post can change its visibility or delete it.
If you’ve greater concerns about the post—for instance, if you think that that it’ll reveal details about you that you’d rather keep private—then you possibly can click on the “Find support or report post” button. You’ll find many other options, resembling “Bullying” and “Harassment,” under the “Something Else” button.
Take Control of Your Facebook Profile
Facebook is a strong tool that you should utilize to arrange events, be in contact with old friends, and even discover a job. The service can be a liability, especially if you’ve friends who tag and post with reckless abandon.
With Timeline Review and the power to remove tags and posts out of your timeline, you possibly can take back slightly control by manually approving what appears in your profile.
In the event you’re an enormous Facebook user but you haven’t arrange emergency contacts yet, discover ways to avoid login problems by nominating friends to vouch for you in case your account is compromised.